Mayo County

This list only contains Roman Catholic parish names in Ireland and is not considered complete. If your parish is not listed, it may be included in another parish. Please consult "Index to Townlands, Parishes, Baronies and Poor Law Unions of Ireland" for more information. The dates given are those for the earliest known birth or marriage ecords. Most have been indexed by the Mayo North Family History Research Centre and South Mayo Family Research Centre whose addresses can be found at Libraries and Research Center Addresses.

Civil Parish RC Parish Starting Date Location
Achill Achill 1821 MNFHRC
Addergoole Addergoole (Lahardane) 1840 MNFHRC
Aghagower Aghagower (Westport) 1821 SMFRC
Aghamore Aghmore 1864 SMFRC
Aglish Aglish, Ballyhean, and Breaghy 1824 SMFRC
Annagh Ballyhaunis (Annah) 1821 SMFRC
Ardagh Ardah 1866 MNFHRC
Athymass Attymass 1875 MNFHRC
Balla Balla, Bvelcarra, and Manulla 1821 SMFRC
Ballinchalla See Cong . .
Ballinrobe Sballinrobe 1843 SMFRC
Ballintober Burriscarra and Ballintubber 1839 SMFRC
Ballyhean See Aglish . .
Ballynahaglish Bakcs (Knockmore) 1815 MNFHRC
Ballyovery Patrtry and Tourmakeady, see Ballinrobe for pre-1869 records 1847 SMFRC
Bekan Bekan 1832 MNFHRC
Bohola Bohola 1857 MNFHRC
Breaghwy See Aglish . .
Burriscarra Burriscarra, see Ballintobert . .
Burrishoole Burrishoole (Newport) 1872 MNFHRC
Castlemore See Balla . .
Cong (See also Co. Galway) Cong and The Neale 1870 SMFRC
Crossboyne Crossboyne and Taugheen 1791 SMFRC
Crossmolina Crossmolina 1831 MNFHRC
Doonfeeny Ballycastle (Kilbride and Doonfeeny) 1869 MNFHRC
Drum see Balla . .
Islandeady Islandeady 1839 SMFRC
Kilbeagh Kilbeagh (Charlestown) 1844 MNFHRC
Kilbelfad Backs, See Ballynahaglish . .
Kilbride Doonfeeny . .
Kilcolman (1) (Near Crossboyne) Kilcolman (Claremorris) 1805 SMFRC
Kilcolman (2) see Co. Sligo . .
Kilcommon (Erris Barony) Belmullet, also Augoose/Bangor records 1836 MNFHRC
Kilcommon (Kilmaine Barony) Kilcommon and Robeen (Hollymount) 1865 SMFRC
Kilconduff Kilconduff and Meelick 1808 SMFRC
Kilcummin See Lackan . .
Kildacommoge Keelogues 1847 MNFHRC
Kilfian Kilfian 1826 MNFHRC
Kilgarvan Kilgarvan (Bonniconlon) 1844 MNFHRC
Kilgeever (1) Clare Island, also Kilgeever 1851 SMFRC
Kilgeever (2) Kilgeever (Louisburgh) 1850 SMFRC
Killala Killala . MNFHRC
Killasser Killasser 1847 MNFHRC
Killedan Killedan (Kiltmagh) 1834 SMFRC
Kilmaclasser Kilmeena . SMFRC
Kilmainebeg Kilmaine (Kilmeine) 1854 SMFRC
Kilmainemore Kilmaine, see Kilmainbeg . .
Kilmeena Kilmeena, See Kilmachlasser . .
Kilmolara Neale, See Cong . .
Kilmore Kilmore-Erris 1859 MNFHRC
Kilmoremoy Kilmoremoy (Ballina) 1823 MNFHRC
Kilmovee Kilmovee 1824 SMFRC
Kilturra (see also Co. Sligo) Kilshalvey, Kilturra and Cloonoghill 1833 MNFHRC
Kilvine Kilvine 1880 SMFRC
Knock Knock 1868 SMFRC
Lackan Kackan or Lacken 1852 MNFHRC
Manulla Balla and Manulla see Balla . .
Mayo Mayo Abbey and Roslea, see also Balla 1841 SMFRC
Meelick Kilconduff and Meelick, see Kilconduff . .
Moorgagah Kilmaine, See Kilmainebeg . .
Moygownagh Moygownagh 1881 .
Oughaval Aughaval (Westport) 1823 SMFRC
Rathreagh Kilfian, see Kilfian . .
Robeen Kilcommon and Robeen (Hollymount) 1857 SMFRC
Rosslee Mayo and Rosslea, see Mayo . .
Shrule Shrule 1831 SMFRC
Tagheen Crossboyne and Tagheen . .
Templemore Templemore (Straide) 1872 MNFHRC
Templemurry Killalah, see Killala . .
Toomore part Toomore (Foxford) part Kilturra 1833 MNFHRC
Touaghty see Mayo . .
Turlough Turlough (Parke) 1847 MNFHRC

Back to the Ireland Gen Web Home Page

To Contact the Webmaster